What are the main body regions for crustaceans?

Structure of crustaceans

Crustaceans have three distinct body parts: head, thorax, and abdomen (or pleon), although the head and thorax may fuse to form a cephalothorax.

What are the 2 body Tagmata of crustaceans called?

Crustaceans usually have two body segments, the cephalothorax (orange) and the abdomen (green). The number of appendages on crustaceans can vary, and many of them have large claws, used for capturing prey.

How many body regions do crustaceans have?

Crustaceans have segmented bodies like insects! Their bodies are divided into three sections – the head, the thorax, and the abdomen. The head has two pair of antennae, a pair of compound eyes, and a pair of mandibles.

What are the three major body regions of a crustacean?

Features that are uniquely crustacean are: The head bears five pairs of appendages consisting of two pairs of antennae, a pair of mandibles, and two pairs of maxillae. The body consists usually of three regions; head, thorax, and abdomen.

What are the two main body regions of a crayfish?

Like all crustaceans, a crayfish has a fairly hard exoskeleton that covers its body. As shown in the diagram on the next page, its body is divided into two main parts, the cephalothorax and the abdomen. The cephalothorax consists of the cephalic (or head) region and the thoracic region.

What are the two body regions in the order Arachnida?

They are characterized by having two body regions, a cephalothorax and an abdomen. They also have 6 pairs of appendages: 4 pairs of legs and 2 pairs of mouthpart appendages, the first are called chelicerae (hence, the subphylum Chelicerata).

What are the 2 main body parts of Decapods called?

The decapod crustacean, such as a crab, lobster, shrimp or prawn, is made up of nineteen body segments grouped into two main body parts, the cephalothorax and the abdomen. Each segment may possess one pair of appendages, although in various groups these may be reduced or missing.

What arthropods have 2 body sections?

Spiders, mites, ticks, and scorpions are arachnids. These arthropods have only two body segments, eight legs, but no antennae.

What is the body cavity of crustaceans?

The crustacean coelom is small and the main body cavity—a hemocoel, or cavity in which blood circulates—is part of the circulatory system, as in other arthropods.

How many body regions does shrimp have?

The body of the shrimp is divided into two main parts: the head and thorax which are fused together to form the cephalothorax, and a long narrow abdomen. The shell which protects the cephalothorax is harder and thicker than the shell elsewhere on the shrimp and is called the carapace.

What are the two main regions of the body quizlet?

There are two main regions; axial and appendicular.

Which organism has two body regions?

Arachnids. The arachnids, which include spiders, mites, ticks, scorpions, and horseshoe crabs, have only four pairs of walking legs and no compound eyes. Their bodies have two main regions. Most live on land and feed on insects and other small animals.

What are the main body regions of insects and spiders?

All adult insects have three body parts: head, thorax and abdomen. The wings and legs are always attached to the thorax. (Spiders, which are not insects, have two body parts: head and abdomen.)

What are two key features of arachnids?

Arachnids have the following characteristics:

  • Four pairs of legs (eight total).
  • Arachnids also have two additional pairs of appendages.
  • Arachnids do not have antennae or wings.
  • The arachnid body is organized into the cephalothorax, a fusion of the head and thorax, and the abdomen.

What are the two main body segments of a crayfish?

Like all crustaceans, a crayfish has a fairly hard exoskeleton that covers its body. As shown in the diagram on the next page, its body is divided into two main parts, the cephalothorax and the abdomen.

What are the 3 body regions of arthropods?

Arthropod segments have also fused together into functional units called tagma. This process of segment fusion, or tagmosis, usually results in an arthropod body that consists of three major sections, a head, thorax, and abdomen. Sometimes the head and thorax are fused together into a cephalothorax.

What are the body segments of insects and crustaceans?

Insects have three distinct body segments (head, thorax, abdomen), while crustaceans have two (head and thorax). Insects have three pairs of legs, while crustaceans have at least five. Crustaceans have two sets of antennae, while insects have one. Insects can fly, with most having one or two pairs of wings.

How many body cavities are there?

Body Cavities
The two main cavities are called the ventral and dorsal cavities. The ventral is the larger cavity and is subdivided into two parts (thoracic and abdominopelvic cavities) by the diaphragm, a dome-shaped respiratory muscle.

What body characteristics do all crustaceans have in common?

A crustacean has the following features:

  • a segmented body with a hard exterior (known as an exoskeleton)
  • jointed limbs, each often with two branches (termed biramous)
  • two pairs of antennae.
  • gills.

How many body regions does a lobster have?

A lobster’s body is divided into twenty-one segments: six segments from the head region, eight segments compose the thorax (mid-section), and seven segments make up the abdomen (often called the tail).

What are the body regions of the body?

The five regions of the body are the head, neck, torso, upper extremities, and lower extremities. The body is also divided by three imaginary planes known as the sagittal plane, coronal plane, and transverse plane. The sagittal plane runs vertically and divides the body into right and left portions.

What are the two parts of the body?

The human body consists of a bony skeleton and muscles. The three main parts of the body are: the head, the trunk and the limbs (extremities). The head is composed of the cranial and facial parts. It contains the brain, the centre of the nervous system.

What are the bodies regions?

What are the two body regions of a spider?

SPIDER BODY PARTS. Cephalothorax – the fused head and thorax, also called the prosoma. It contains the brain, jaws, eyes, stomach, and leg attachments. Abdomen – the belly, also called the opisthosoma.

What are the three main body regions of insects and their functions?

The three main insect body parts are head, thorax, and abdomen. The head contains the antennae, eyes, and mouthparts. The thorax is the middle body part to which the legs and wings are attached. The abdomen contains digestive and reproductive organs internally and often reproductive structures externally.