What are the 27 compact states?
These states are: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
What happens if you let your nursing license expire in Tennessee?
If the reinstatement application received reflects in the work history that the individual has worked in excess of three months on an expired license, the board will present to the licensee official notice which specifies payment of a civil penalty in the amount of $100 per month for every month worked in excess of …
How many times can you take the Nclex in Tennessee?
Candidates who have applied for licensure/registration with a participating nursing regulatory body (NRB) will be permitted to take the NCLEX eight times a year and there must be 45 test-free days between each examination.
Is TN a multistate nursing license?
Your TN license has multi-state privileges because TN is a compact state and you are a resident of TN.
Which state is easiest to get RN license?
Easiest states to become a nurse – Length of licensing process
- Maine: 1-2 weeks.
- Maryland: 2-3 days.
- Missouri: 2 weeks.
- Nevada: 1-2 weeks.
- North Carolina: 1-2 weeks.
- North Dakota: 1-2 weeks.
- Texas: 2 weeks.
- Vermont: 3-5 business days.
Is Tennessee compact state?
Tennessee is a member of the nurse license compact.
The Board recommends that nurses who are moving from other compact states begin the application process beforehand; it is not permissible to practice on the old license for more than 30 days after establishing residency.
How do I keep my nursing license active in Tennessee?
Once licensed, nurses renew their licenses every two years. Renewal notices are mailed from the administrative office forty-five days prior to expiration of the license to the current address on file. Licensees are responsible for renewing on time and keeping the board apprised of current information.
How do I reinstate my expired nursing license in Tennessee?
Tennessee nurse license renewal applicants must use Tennessee’s Nursing CE Broker. Tennessee recognizes most out-of-state nurses if you hold current licensure in another state as long as your other state has no disciplinary actions on record, or pending against you. Submit an application for renewal. Pay the fees.
What happens if you don’t pass NCLEX in 3 years?
If you do not pass within that year, you must complete board-approved remediation before retaking the exam. If you have not passed the NCLEX by the three-year anniversary of your graduation, you will have to attend a nursing education program before you may take the exam again.
Can you take NCLEX 10 years after graduation?
She stated that there is no time limit on when you finished your nursing education to make you eligible (or ineligible) to take the NCLEX and you should go ahead and apply.
How do I get a compact nursing license in Tennessee?
- Complete an application for Licensure by Endorsement online.
- Upload the following documents with your application: A passport type photo signed and dated on the front.
- Submit the associated fee with application.
- Complete Background Check.
- Request verification from your original state of licensure.
Can you hold a nursing license in multiple states?
The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) allows nurses to have one license to practice in multiple states. There are currently 38 jurisdictions that have enacted NLC legislation, meaning they recognize the multi-state license or have such legislation pending.
Which state is the hardest to become a nurse?
Whether you’re a first-time travel nurse or a seasoned veteran, the matter of obtaining licensure in a new state you’d like to work in is always a hurdle.
5 States that Take Longest to Get an RN License In
- Ohio (4-6 months)
- 2. California (3-6 months)
- Maryland (10 weeks)
- Maine (8-10 weeks)
- Alaska (8 weeks)
Is the RN exam hard?
NCLEX Pass Rates
The second-attempt pass rate for domestically-educated students taking the test was 45.56%. These results demonstrate that it is a pretty difficult test. The questions are designed to test your critical thinking, knowledge of the nursing process, and assessment skills.
How many states are in the compact?
What states can I work in with a Nurse Compact license? These are the 37 states and two U.S. territories that have passed eNLC legislation and belong to the compact.
What do I need if audited by the Tennessee Board of Nursing?
Evidence of current national certification. Copy of satisfactory employer evaluation. Letter from peer providing satisfactory evaluation of your nursing performance. Letter from patient or family member giving evidence of satisfactory nurse/patient relationship.
How do I renew my inactive nursing license?
Generally, nursing licenses are valid for two years. If your license is inactive or expired, you must contact the state board of nursing to renew it. Depending on the rules of your state, you may need to pay a renewal fee, take refresher courses or complete a board-approved reentry program.
What happens if I let my nursing registration lapse?
If this registration lapses, for whatever reason, it is a criminal offence to continue to practice as a nurse or midwife and if you forget to renew your registration whilst employed, you may face disciplinary processes from your employer.
Can I take NCLEX 10 years after graduation?
Which state has the easiest NCLEX exam?
If you are looking for the best state for NCLEX or easiest state to pass NCLEX, here are the top 5:
- #1 Connecticut.
- #2 Montana.
- #3 New York.
- #4 Northern Mariana Islands.
- #5 South Dakota.
What if I never pass the NCLEX?
If you didn’t pass the exam, you’ll receive a NCLEX Candidate Performance Report (CPR). The CPR is an individualized document that shows how a candidate performed in each of the test plan content areas. Candidates who fail the exam can use the CPR as a guide to prepare them to retake the exam.
How long is NCLEX valid?
Though the vast majority of candidates pass the exam the first time, those who fail are permitted to retake it after 45 days from their original test date. Candidates may retest as many as 8 times in a year. Candidates must pass NCLEX within three years from when they graduated nursing school.
Is Tennessee a compact state nursing?
Nurses who hold residence and licensing in other compact states do not need a Tennessee license to practice there unless they switch their primary residency.
How long does it take to transfer nursing license to Tennessee?
It takes up to 6 weeks upon receipt of all required documents.