What are the 2 main nervous cell types?

Although the nervous system is very complex, there are only two main types of cells in nerve tissue. The actual nerve cell is the neuron. It is the “conducting” cell that transmits impulses and the structural unit of the nervous system. The other type of cell is neuroglia, or glial, cell.

What embryonic layer is the origin of the nervous system?


The CNS is derived from the neuroectoderm: notochord induces the formation of the neural plate (thickening of the ectodermal layer), which further differentiates to form neural folds with a neural groove in between, leading to the formation of the neural tube (via neurulation).

What parts of the nervous system are present in all embryos?

As the embryo develops, the anterior part of the neural tube forms three primary brain vesicles, which become the primary anatomical regions of the brain: the forebrain (prosencephalon), midbrain (mesencephalon), and hindbrain (rhombencephalon).

What is the first stage of embryonic development of the nervous system?

The nervous system develops from a section of the ectoderm called the neural plate, which begins to differentiate under the influence of the nearby notochord and paraxial mesoderm around the third week. The edges of the neural plate then elevate to form the neural folds.

What are the cells of the nervous system?

The nervous system is composed of two basic cell types: glial cells (also known as glia) and neurons. Glial cells, which outnumber neurons ten to one, are traditionally thought to play a supportive role to neurons, both physically and metabolically.

What are the cells of the nervous system called?

The cells in nervous tissue that generate and conduct impulses are called neurons or nerve cells. These cells have three principal parts: the dendrites, the cell body, and one axon. The main part of the cell, the part that carries on the general functions, is the cell body.

What are the 3 embryonic tissues?

germ layer, any of three primary cell layers, formed in the earliest stages of embryonic development, consisting of the endoderm (inner layer), the ectoderm (outer layer), and the mesoderm (middle layer).

What are the 3 embryonic germ layers?

Three primary germ layers
Gastrulation is a key phase in embryonic development when pluripotent stem cells differentiate into the three primordial germ layers: ectoderm, mesoderm and endoderm.

What are the embryological divisions of the brain?

The brain and the spinal cord arise in early development from the neural tube, which expands in the front of the embryo to form the three primary brain divisions: the prosencephalon (forebrain), mesencephalon (midbrain), and rhombencephalon (hindbrain) (Figure 1.1A).

What are the four stages of nervous system development?

Neuronal Development

  • Stage 1: Neurogenesis.
  • Stage 2: Cell Migration.
  • Stage 3: Differentiation.
  • Stage 4: Outgrowth.

What are the 6 stages of nervous system development?


  • Neurogenesis.
  • Cell Migration.
  • Cell Differentiation.
  • Synpatogenesis.
  • Neuronal Cell Death.
  • Synapse Rearrangement.

What are 3 types of nerve cells?

For the spinal cord though, we can say that there are three types of neurons: sensory, motor, and interneurons.

  • Sensory neurons.
  • Motor neurons.
  • Interneurons.
  • Neurons in the brain.

What are the two kinds of cells in the nervous system quizlet?

There are two main cell types: neurons and neuroglia. The nerve cell known as the “functional unit”. Transmits the impulses of the nervous system. Cell body, Axon, and Dendrites.

What are the 3 nervous systems?

The PNS is divided into three separate subsystems, the somatic, autonomic, and enteric nervous systems.

What are the 4 stages of embryonic development?

It is characterised by the processes of cell division and cellular differentiation of the embryo that occurs during the early stages of development.


  • 1.1 Fertilization.
  • 1.2 Cleavage.
  • 1.3 Blastulation.
  • 1.4 Implantation.
  • 1.5 Embryonic disc.

What do the 3 layers of cells go on to form?

The three germ layers are the endoderm, the ectoderm, and the mesoderm. Cells in each germ layer differentiate into tissues and embryonic organs. The ectoderm gives rise to the nervous system and the epidermis, among other tissues. The mesoderm gives rise to the muscle cells and connective tissue in the body.

What is cell division of a zygote called?

When a Zygote Becomes an Embryo. Zygotes divide through a process known as mitosis, in which each cell doubles (one cell becomes two, two becomes four, and so on).

What is the outer layer of a zygote called quizlet?

The outer layer consists of cells collectively called the trophoblast. This layer surrounds the inner cell mass and a fluid-filled cavity known as the blastocoele. The trophoblast gives rise to the placenta. the saclike membrane that develops from the blastocyst wall to envelop the embryo.

What are the 3 main divisions of the brain?

Main Parts of the Brain and Their Functions. At a high level, the brain can be divided into the cerebrum, brainstem and cerebellum.

What are the three divisions of the brain in the fetal nervous system?

What are the 3 stages of neural development?

The development of the nervous system proceeds in three phases: first, nerve cells are generated through cell division; then, having ceased dividing, they send out axons and dendrites to form profuse synapses with other, remote cells so that communication can begin; last, the system of synaptic connections is refined …

How the nervous system is formed?

The nervous system develops from the ectoderm following an inductive signal from the mesoderm. The initial mesodermal cells condense to form the notochord, which elongates under the primitive streak along the anterior—posterior axis of the developing embryo.

What type of cells are in the nervous system?

What are the 4 types of nervous system?

The PNS is broken into the somatic nervous system and the autonomic nervous system.

  • Somatic Nervous System. The somatic nervous system is made up of motor neurons and sensory neurons that help the body perform voluntary activities.
  • Autonomic Nervous System.
  • Sympathetic Nervous System.
  • Parasympathetic Nervous System.

What are the name of the cells used by the nervous system?