What are FATF typologies?

The Proliferation Finance Typology Project develops an understanding of the issues surrounding proliferation financing and provides information that can be used by the FATF to assess the need for policy measures to counter proliferation financing.

What is typologies in AML?

Common typologies are those related to money laundering, each one representing a different level of risk within a transaction. These typologies exist because criminals know they can flaunt regulation, where there is little to no identifying information when setting up a crypto wallet.

What are the 40 and 9 FATF recommendations?

The 40+9 Recommendations, together with their interpretative notes, provide the international standards for combating money laundering (ML) and terrorist financing (TF). The FATF revised the 40 and IX Recommendations. The revision of the FATF Recommendations was adopted and publised in February 2012.

What is FATF report?

The FATF Recommendations are the internationally endorsed global standards against money laundering and terrorist financing: they increase transparency and enable countries to successfully take action against illicit use of their financial system.

What are 3 primary steps of terrorism financing?

Similar to money laundering, there are generally three stages in terrorism financing: raising, moving and using funds. Despite the different stages, the ways in which terrorism financing is done is similar and, in some cases, may be identical to the methods used to launder money.

What are the 3 stages of money laundering?

Although money laundering is a diverse and often complex process, it generally involves three stages: placement, layering, and/or integration. Money laundering is defined as the criminal practice of making funds from illegal activity appear legitimate.

What is another word for typology?

Typology synonyms

In this page you can discover 8 synonyms, antonyms, idiomatic expressions, and related words for typology, like: typological, contextualisation, taxonomy, categorisation, diachronic, conceptualisation, conceptualization and contextualization.

What are the 3 stages of AML?

There are three stages of money laundering: placement, layering and integration. It is important for financial institutions to understand each of these money laundering stages to develop effective anti-money laundering (AML) strategies.

What are FATF 40 recommendations?

The 40 Recommendations provide a complete set of counter-measures against money laundering (ML)covering the criminal justice system and law enforcement, the financial system and its regulation, and international co-operation.

What are FATF guidelines?

The FATF has prepared a Guidance paper to provide support to countries and their financial institutions in designing Anti-Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing (AML/CFT) measures that meet the national goal of financial inclusion, without compromising the measures that exist for the purpose of combating crime.

How many lists are there in FATF?

FATF has 2 types of lists: a. Black List: Countries knowns as Non-Cooperative Countries or Territories (NCCTs) are put in the blacklist. These countries support terror funding and money laundering activities.

What are the three objectives of FATF?

The objectives of the FATF are to set standards and promote effective implementation of legal, regulatory and operational measures for combating money laundering, terrorist financing and other related threats to the integrity of the international financial system.

What is the 4 difference between money laundering and terrorism financing?

The main purpose of money laundering is to take advantage of criminal activities. Money laundering is the result of almost all profitable crimes. Financing terrorism, on the other hand, refers to an illegal action in the future; the purpose of terrorism financing is not to collect, profit, or accumulate in the future.

What are the sources of terrorism financing?

Sources of terrorist financing today are multifarious and include money laundering, ransom from kidnapping, robbery, drug trafficking, ‘protection fees’, illegal arms trade, donations from wealthy sympathisers and contributions from other terror groups.

What are the 4 pillars of AML?

The written BSA/AML compliance program must include the following four pillars:

  • Internal controls;
  • The designation of a BSA/AML officer;
  • A BSA/AML training program; and.
  • Independent testing to test programs.

What are the three 3 components of KYC?

KYC process includes ID card verification, face verification, document verification such as utility bills as proof of address, and biometric verification.

What is a typology study?

Typology is the study of types or the systematic classification of the types of something according to their common characteristics. Typology is the act of finding, counting and classification facts with the help of eyes, other senses and logic.

How do you use typology in a sentence?

1. She develops a typology according to the different parts of speech, and her analyses reveal a marked preference for the verb metaphor. 2. Typology dominated archaeological thinking until the 1950s, and still plays an important role in the discipline.

How many FATF lists are there?

39 members
There are currently 39 members of the FATF; 37 jurisdictions and 2 regional organisations (the Gulf Cooperation Council and the European Commission). These 39 Members are at the core of global efforts to combat money laundering and terrorist financing.

What is FATF GREY list?

Grey listing means FATF has placed a country under increased monitoring to check its progress on measures against money laundering and terrorism financing. The “grey list” is also known as the “increased monitoring list”.

Which are the 3 stages of money laundering?

This process involves stages of money laundering: Placement, Layering, and Integration.

What are the 3 layers of AML?

Anti-Money Laundering (AML) is a set of policies, procedures, and technologies that prevents money laundering. There are three major steps in money laundering (placement, layering, and integration), and various controls are put in place to monitor suspicious activity that could be involved in money laundering.

What are the 4 pillars of KYC?

Banks should frame their KYC policies incorporating the following four key elements:

  • Customer Acceptance Policy;
  • Customer Identification Procedures;
  • Monitoring of Transactions; and.
  • Risk Management.

What are the four types of typology?

A typology of the field of study includes numerous categories like applied, archaeological, biological, cultural, forensic, and linguistic anthropology.

What is the typology theory?

Typological theories occupy a middle ground between covering laws, or highly general abstract propositions, and causal mechanisms. Typological theories identify recurring conjunctions of mechanisms and provide hypotheses on the pathways through which they produce effects.